Ferrer Returns to TSR in 2015

Posted on Posted in Press Release

Following a competitive season in Protyre Formula Renault where Matteo finished third in the Championship, Matteo Ferrer has again signed to contest the Toyota Racing Series in 2015. Matteo is delighted to have secured a seat with ETECH Motorsport and is very much looking forward to revisiting the series and learning their brand new car.

ETEC Motorsport is one of Australasia’s most successful motor racing teams, with decades of experience in single seater, touring and sports car racing around the world.

Matteo competed in the Toyota Racing Series at the start of 2014, and although he had a bumpy start, he quickly knuckled down and impressed with his improvement over the five race meetings. He then returned to Europe to race in the Protyre Formula Renault Championship where he was leading the Championship to teammate Pietro Fittipaldi, before he had engine trouble which plagued him over a number of races resulting in him dropping to third.

Matteo will continue to be supported in his career development by Allinsport, as he faces new cars, circuits and challenges in the TRS to be followed by a European season in 2015. Partners Saxo Bank, Geoplis, Axus and Grand Prix Plus will also continue to support Matteo in his racing activities.

The upcoming series is an exciting prospect for the Swiss based German/Italian who is very much looking forward to another year competing on the the New Zealand circuits: “I have worked hard this year to increase my competitiveness and I’ve spent a lot of time analysing where I still have things to learn. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to put all my good practice and recent experience into play in New Zealand.”

ETECH Motorsport will field four cars in the 2015 Toyota Racing Series and team owner Trevor Sheumack is pleased to have Matteo in the team, and said “I’m sure we’re in for an exciting Series and I’m looking forward to Matteo being part of the team and helping with his continuing development. ”

The Toyota Racing Series is New Zealand’s premier single-seater category, offering a high level of safety and competitiveness. The series consists of 5 rounds held over five consecutive weekends throughout New Zealand. The series finale at Manfield is the setting for the 60th New Zealand Grand Prix, one of only two official FIA sanctioned Grand Prix’s not part of the FIA Formula One World Championship calendar.

The opening round of the 2015 Toyota Racing Series takes place 17 & 18 January at Ruapuna Park in Christchurch.


Leave a comment