Ferrer to compete in 2014 TRS

Posted on Posted in Press Release

Following a productive season in Protyre Formula Renault and the BRDC Formula 4 Winter Championship, Matteo Ferrer has signed to contest the Toyota Racing Series with Giles Motorsport. Matteo is delighted to have secured a seat with the Toyota Racing Series’ most successful team and is very much looking forward to the challenges of a new series.

The Auckland based team was founded by former Mclaren F1 Chief Mechanic Stephen Giles in 2008. Giles Motorsport have won four consecutive TRS Championships from 2009 to 2012.

During 2013 Matteo made great strides in catching up to the experience level of his fellow competitors having not followed the conventional route through karting. In only his second year in any form of motorsport Matteo made a remarkable impression against his more experienced opposition, gaining his first podium in the Formula 4 Winter Championship during November.

Matteo will continue to be supported in his career development by Allinsport, as he faces new cars, circuits and challenges in the TRS to be followed by a European season in 2014.

The upcoming series is an exciting prospect for the UK based Italian. Matteo is very much looking forward to the New Zealand series: “I have worked hard this year to increase my competitiveness and I’ve spent a lot of time analysing where I still have things to learn. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to put all my good practice and recent experience into play in New Zealand.”

Giles Motorsport will field six cars in the 2014 Toyota Racing Series and team owner Stephan Giles is pleased to have Matteo in the team, and said “I’m sure we’re in for an exciting Series and I’m looking forward to Matteo being part of the team and helping with his continuing his development. ”

The Toyota Racing Series is New Zealand’s premier single-seater category, offering a high level of safety and competitiveness. The series consists of 5 rounds held over five consecutive weekends throughout New Zealand. The series finale at Manfield is the setting for the 59th New Zealand Grand Prix, one of only two official FIA sanctioned Grand Prix’s not part of the FIA Formula One World Championship calendar.

The opening round of the 2014 Toyota Racing Series takes place 11 & 12 January at the tip of New Zealand’s south island at Invercargill’s Teretonga circuit, one of the world’s most southern racing circuits.


Leave a comment